IBPS PO Photo, Signature, Thumb and Declaration Size: Upload Guide
14 min read · 2,622 words
How does IBPS PO photo and signature size work?
IBPS PO Photo, Signature, Thumb and Declaration Size: Upload Guide
IBPS PO upload specs from the CRP PO/MT-XVI notice: photo 20-50 KB, signature 10-20 KB, thumb 20-50 KB, declaration 50-100 KB, plus rejection fixes.
Ask Siliph
Answers from this article
Suggested questions
Free Siliph tool
IBPS PO 2026 PDF Compress
Set up for IBPS PO 2026 uploads.
- Free for personal use
- No account, no watermark
Key takeaways
- All four images (photo, signature, thumb impression, declaration) must be JPG or JPEG. The KB ranges are minimums and maximums: a file that is too small fails just like one that is too big.
- The pixel sizes are marked "preferred" in the notice. The file size and format are what the upload form checks, and it shows an error if they are wrong.
- The signature and the handwritten declaration must not be in CAPITAL LETTERS, and the declaration must be in your own handwriting, in English.
- The live photo is captured inside the form by webcam or by scanning a QR code with your phone. It is in addition to the uploaded photograph, not instead of it.
- The Class 10 (SSC/SSLC) certificate goes up as an A4 PDF of no more than 500 KB.
In this article
For IBPS PO (CRP PO/MT-XVI), upload a JPG/JPEG photograph of 20-50 KB (200 x 230 pixels preferred), a signature of 10-20 KB (140 x 60 pixels), a left thumb impression of 20-50 KB (240 x 240 pixels), a handwritten declaration of 50-100 KB (800 x 400 pixels) and your Class 10 certificate as an A4 PDF of up to 500 KB, and capture a separate live photo by webcam or phone.
These figures come from Annexure III, "Guidelines for Scanning and Upload of Documents", in the IBPS detailed notification for CRP PO/MT-XVI, the current PO cycle (vacancies of 2027-28). Registration for that cycle ran from 1 to 21 July 2026 and has closed. Each cycle publishes its own notice, so if you are preparing for the next one, check its Annexure III on ibps.in before you prepare files. This guide sets out what the notice actually says, why uploads get rejected and how to make each file fit.
Key takeaways
- All four images (photo, signature, thumb impression, declaration) must be JPG or JPEG. The KB ranges are minimums and maximums: a file that is too small fails just like one that is too big.
- The pixel sizes are marked "preferred" in the notice. The file size and format are what the upload form checks, and it shows an error if they are wrong.
- The signature and the handwritten declaration must not be in CAPITAL LETTERS, and the declaration must be in your own handwriting, in English.
- The live photo is captured inside the form by webcam or by scanning a QR code with your phone. It is in addition to the uploaded photograph, not instead of it.
- The Class 10 (SSC/SSLC) certificate goes up as an A4 PDF of no more than 500 KB.
IBPS PO upload specifications at a glance
This table collects every upload requirement in the CRP PO/MT-XVI notice, taken from Annexure III and clauses (3) and (21) to (23) of the notification.
| Document | Format | Preferred dimensions | File size | Must-follow rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Photograph | JPG / JPEG | 200 x 230 px | 20-50 KB | Recent, colour, light (preferably white) background, no cap or dark glasses |
| Live photograph | Captured in the form | Not specified | Not specified | Webcam or phone via QR code, passport-size framing, good light |
| Signature | JPG / JPEG | 140 x 60 px | 10-20 KB | Black ink on white paper, not in capital letters |
| Left thumb impression | JPG / JPEG | 240 x 240 px at 200 DPI (3 x 3 cm) | 20-50 KB | Black or blue ink on white paper |
| Handwritten declaration | JPG / JPEG | 800 x 400 px at 200 DPI (10 x 5 cm) | 50-100 KB | Your handwriting, English, black ink, not in capitals |
| Class 10 certificate | PDF, A4 page | Not applicable | Up to 500 KB | Clear and readable |
| Scribe-related disability certificate (only if applicable) | PDF, A4 page | Not applicable | Up to 500 KB | Only for candidates covered by clause J (ix) |
The notice also says the system will not let you move to the next stage until the photograph and signature meet the specifications, and that an application without a proper photograph, signature, thumb impression and declaration "will not be considered as valid".
Photograph rules
The uploaded photograph must be a recent, passport-style colour picture that is clearly visible. The notice describes it as 4.5 cm x 3.5 cm and gives 200 x 230 pixels as the preferred size, with the file between 20 KB and 50 KB.
What the notice asks for in the picture itself:
- A light-coloured, preferably white, background.
- Look straight at the camera with a relaxed face.
- No harsh shadows and no squinting: if it is sunny, keep the sun behind you or stand in shade.
- No red-eye if you use a flash.
- If you wear glasses, no reflections, and your eyes must be clearly visible.
- No caps, hats or dark glasses. Religious headwear is allowed, but it must not cover your face.
Keep printed copies of the same photo. Clause (21) says you may be asked to produce the same photograph at later stages and that you should not change your appearance until the selection process ends, because doubts about identity can lead to disqualification. Photos and biometric data may also be captured and matched at the exam and later stages.
The live photograph is a separate step
During registration you also capture a live photograph. Choosing "Capture Photo" turns on your computer's webcam and uploads the picture automatically. Choosing "Click here to Scan" shows a QR code: scan it with your phone, take the picture on the phone and it is added to the form.
No tool can resize this live photo, because it never exists as a file you handle. The notice's do's and don'ts are what matter:
- Sit against a light, preferably white, background with enough light on your face.
- Look straight at the camera and fill the frame like a passport photo; do not take a tiny, distant shot.
- No sunglasses, coloured glasses, cap or mask, and no shadow across your face.
- Do not take it in the dark, at an angle or with a blurred image.
SSC has gone further than IBPS: for SSC CGL the live photo replaces the uploaded photo entirely, as explained in the guide to SSC CGL photo and signature rules.
Signature rules
Sign on white paper with a black ink pen. The scanned signature should preferably be 140 x 60 pixels and the file must be between 10 KB and 20 KB.
Three rules here cause most problems:
- Capital letters are not accepted. A signature written in block capitals is rejected.
- It must be your own signature, and it must match the one you sign on the attendance sheet and call letter at the exam. The notice says a mismatch leads to disqualification.
- It must be clearly visible, not smudged or blurred.
Left thumb impression rules
Put your left thumb impression on white paper using black or blue ink. Save it as JPG or JPEG, preferably 240 x 240 pixels at 200 DPI (3 cm x 3 cm), with a file size of 20-50 KB.
If you do not have a left thumb, the notice lets you use your right thumb. If both thumbs are missing, use a finger of the left hand starting from the forefinger, then the right hand, and if no fingers are available, the left toe. In each of these cases, write on the uploaded document which finger (or toe) and which side you used.
For a clear impression, press firmly once without rolling or sliding, use a thin, even layer of ink, and let it dry before you scan or photograph it. The notice warns that an unclear or smudged thumb impression can lead to the application being rejected.
Handwritten declaration: exact text and rules
Write the declaration clearly in English, in your own handwriting, with black ink on white paper. Save it as JPG or JPEG, preferably 800 x 400 pixels at 200 DPI (10 cm x 5 cm), with a file size of 50-100 KB.
The text given in the CRP PO/MT-XVI notification is:
"I, __________ (Name of the candidate), hereby declare that all the information submitted by me in the application form is correct, true and valid. I will present the supporting documents as and when required."
Write your name in the blank and copy the rest word for word. The declaration must not be in capital letters, and if someone else writes it or it is in another language, the application is treated as invalid. Candidates who cannot write may have the text typed and put their left thumb impression below it (if they also cannot sign), then upload it to the same specification.
Class 10 certificate and other PDFs
Your SSC/SSLC/10th standard or equivalent certificate is uploaded as a PDF on an A4 page, no larger than 500 KB, and it must be clear and readable. The same rule applies to the certificate under clause J (ix), which only concerns candidates with a specified disability below 40% who have difficulty writing and need a scribe.
The notification also says DigiLocker is integrated with the application form, so you may be able to share issued documents such as Aadhaar and educational records from there. If you are working with PDFs from DigiLocker, the guide on fixing DigiLocker PDF upload problems explains common size issues.
How to resize and compress each file
Start every file from a sharp original: a clean scan at 200 DPI or more (the notice's own scanning advice) or a well-lit phone photo taken straight on. Crop it close to the edge of the photo, signature, thumb impression or declaration before resizing, because extra white space only makes the important part smaller.
Photograph
- Crop your photo to head and shoulders on your phone or computer.
- Open the IBPS photo resizer, which loads the IBPS photo preset of the Exam Photo Resizer: 200 x 230 pixels, 20-50 KB.
- Add the photo and download the JPG. The tool fits the whole image inside the 200 x 230 box on white without cropping or stretching it, then lowers JPEG quality until the file is under 50 KB.
- Read the file name and any note on screen: the name includes the final size, and the tool warns you if the file came out below the 20 KB minimum. If it did, start again from a sharper original.
Signature
- Sign on plain white paper with a black pen, photograph or scan it straight on, and crop tightly around the ink.
- In the Exam Photo Resizer, choose the IBPS PO/Clerk/SO Signature preset (140 x 60 pixels, 10-20 KB) and download the JPG.
- Check the size. A 140 x 60 image holds very little data, so a clean signature can come out below 10 KB even at full quality, and the tool flags this. Try a sharper, higher-resolution original first. If it is still under 10 KB, the notice lists 140 x 60 as preferred while the 10-20 KB range is what the form checks, so a slightly larger image in the same proportions is an option; preview it carefully before you submit.
Thumb impression and declaration
The Exam Photo Resizer has no IBPS preset for these two, so prepare them in two steps:
- Crop the thumb impression to a square and the declaration to a 2:1 rectangle (twice as wide as tall), and resize them to 240 x 240 and 800 x 400 pixels in your phone's photo editor or MS Paint, which the notice itself suggests for cropping, resizing and saving as JPEG.
- Compress them with Compress Image: pick the 50 KB target for the thumb impression and the 100 KB target for the declaration. The tool keeps your pixel size where it can and saves the highest JPEG quality that fits, and the file name shows the final size.
- Confirm the result is above the minimum: at least 20 KB for the thumb impression and at least 50 KB for the declaration. A file below the minimum usually means the original was too small or too faint.
Class 10 certificate PDF
- If you have photos of the certificate, combine them with JPG to PDF and choose A4 as the page size.
- If the PDF is above 500 KB, shrink it with Compress PDF to 500 KB and check that every line is still readable.
Small image batches on Siliph are processed in your browser. Larger jobs, and all PDF compression, are uploaded over an encrypted connection to Siliph's servers and deleted within 2 hours.
Why IBPS PO uploads get rejected
Most rejections come from a few avoidable mistakes, paired below with what the notice says and the fix.
| Problem | What the notice says | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Error message on upload | Wrong size or format triggers an error | Check the file is JPG/JPEG and inside the KB range, including the minimum |
| PNG, HEIC or WebP photo | Image files must be JPG or JPEG | Re-save or convert to JPG before uploading |
| Signature or declaration in block letters | Capital letters are not accepted | Sign and write in your normal running hand |
| Blue-ink signature | Signature must be in black ink | Re-sign with a black pen (blue is allowed only for the thumb impression) |
| Blurred or smudged image | Application may be rejected | Rescan from a sharp original; do not compress the same file repeatedly |
| Photo uploaded in the signature slot | Not allowed to appear for the exam | Use the separate link for each document and check the preview |
| Declaration text changed or written by someone else | Treated as invalid | Copy the official text exactly, in your own handwriting |
| Cap, dark glasses or harsh shadow in photo | Not acceptable | Retake against a light background in even light |
After uploading, use the preview on each slot. The notice allows you to re-upload a file that is unclear before you submit. After you click Complete Registration, the notice says no change is permitted except through any edit window IBPS announces on its website.
Frequently asked questions
What is the IBPS PO photo size in KB and pixels?
The CRP PO/MT-XVI notice asks for a JPG or JPEG photograph between 20 KB and 50 KB, with 200 x 230 pixels as the preferred size. It must be a recent colour passport-style photo on a light, preferably white, background.
What is the IBPS PO signature size?
The signature must be a JPG or JPEG between 10 KB and 20 KB, preferably 140 x 60 pixels. Sign on white paper with a black pen, and do not sign in capital letters.
What is the text of the IBPS handwritten declaration?
"I, __________ (Name of the candidate), hereby declare that all the information submitted by me in the application form is correct, true and valid. I will present the supporting documents as and when required." Write it in English, in your own handwriting, with black ink and not in capital letters.
Can I use blue ink for the thumb impression?
Yes. The notice allows black or blue ink for the left thumb impression. The signature and the handwritten declaration must be in black ink.
Is the live photo the same as the uploaded photograph?
No. You upload a scanned or digital photograph (20-50 KB) and also capture a live photo inside the form with your webcam or phone. Both should show you clearly, and you should not change your appearance before the exam.
Do these specifications apply to the next IBPS PO cycle?
They are taken from the CRP PO/MT-XVI notification dated July 2026. IBPS publishes a new notification for each cycle, so confirm the sizes in Annexure III of the next notice on ibps.in before you prepare your files.
Sources
- IBPS: Detailed Notification, CRP PO/MT-XVI (Annexure III, Guidelines for Scanning and Upload of Documents)
- IBPS: Probationary Officers / Management Trainees XVI notices page
- IBPS: Window notification for CRP PO/MT-XVI and SPL-XVI (important dates)
- IBPS: Official website
Free Siliph tool
IBPS PO 2026 PDF Compress
Set up for IBPS PO 2026 uploads.
- Free for personal use
- No account, no watermark
Founder, Siliph
Founder and solo developer of Siliph. He builds the site with one goal: keep every tool free for personal use on the internet.

